NFL Week 4 late afternoon predictions

Guess who just got who me from the Rangers  game? What an incredible game it was! From Cole Hamels’ three-hour complete game, to Adrian Beltre’s game – shifting home run, an epic seventh inning, all the way to the celebration, it was a day that will forever be etched into my memory.

Anyways, that means that I caught zero games this afternoon, and the only game I was able to tune into was the early morning London game between the Jets and the hapless Dolphins.

I have no idea what happened in any other game today, but I do know which games were played. So, here are my picks for the late afternoon games, just as they would’ve been had I been home hours ago to write this article in time.

Minnesota Vikings (2-1) at Denver Broncos  (3-0)

Dont let “Big Fox” fool you. The most notable late game worth addressing is actually taking place in Mile High!

The Vikings have rebounded nicely from their hellacious Monday night season – opening loss at San Francisco, defeating the Lions and Chargers since then. Adrian Peterson looks to be back in form, the defense has been stellar, and Teddy Bridgwater is finally finding his footing.

Meanwhile, the Broncos seemed to have turned the corner in last week’s 24-12 victory at Detroit, a nice change of pace from their nail-biting come from behind victories to open up the season.

Peyton Manning seems to be back on track, Emmanuel Sanders has been terrific, and while Demaryius Thomas and CJ Anderson are still not playing up to participate on offense, the defense has been opportunistic as ever.

I see this being a close, hard-fought game. I actually wouldn’t be surprised to see the Vikings holding the lead in the second half. In the end, however, I  see the Broncos being too much. They will power through, and win the game by about a possession, in what should be a thrilling game. Prediction: Vikings 23, Broncos 31.

St. Louis Rams (1-2) at Arizona Cardinals (3-0)

What an epic game this could be! The Cardinals have been nothing short of dominant thus far, while the Rams continue to be unpredictable. I’ll be honest, I see this game getting hairy.

The Cardinals should win, and I believe they will. But I’m not ruling the Rams out. They have a knack for winning divisional games, regardless of how rough a year they may be having at the time. It’s been that way for years. Oh, and Todd Gurley may finally get a full workload. I’m not saying the Rams will win. But, if they do, I’ll be anything but surprised.

Prediction: Rams 24, Cardinals 30.

Cleveland Browns  (1-2) at San Diego  Chargers (1-2)

The lone CBS late game is, well not very appealing. Perhaps this means it will wind up being sneakily great. I doubt it though. The Chargers need this win, and I’ll say they’ll get it. Prediction: Browns 14, Chargers 34.

Green Bay Packers (3-0) at San Francisco 49ers  (1-2)

Okay, I get it. These teams have  history, and the Niners have had Green Bay’s number over the years. However, the home team is falling apart, as expected, and I see the Pack cruising to an easy victory. Prediction: Packers 27, 49ers 13.

Leave a Reply

